The construction of the new Roman Catholic Church in Sombor was proposed way back in 1826. It took longer than a quarter of a century before the building process started in 1860. The Church was built in neo-Renaissance style and dedicated to the Holy Hungarian King Stephen. It was consecrated in 1904. That same year, the construction of the Convent was completed, also in neo-Renaissance style, and in 1905 it was given to the order of Carmelites. Today, the Carmelite Convent, together with the Church of St Stephen the King, makes a unique architectural composition. There is an organ made in 1926 that was among the biggest in former Yugoslavia.